The Transition: Medical School to Residency


Join Texas orthopaedic program directors to learn more about a future in an orthopaedic residency program on the morning of Saturday, April 15, 2023, in at the Hotel St. Anthony in San Antonio during TOA’s 2023 Annual Conference.

The program is designed for medical school students who attend Texas medical schools that do not feature an orthopaedic residency program.


The Saturday morning program is open to second- and third-year medical school students who are currently attend medical schools in Texas. Due to space constraints, it is limited to medical school students in Texas programs.

Check back for registration in early December.


Click here to view the agenda.

Program Faculty

Melvyn A Harrington Jr, MD – Baylor College of Medicine

Anthony “AJ” Johnson, MD – Orthopaedic Residency at the University of Texas Dell Medical School

Rajiv R. Rajani, MD – Texas Tech Health Sciences Center El Paso Department of Orthopaedics

Ryan A. Rose, MD – UT Health San Antonio Department of Orthopaedics

Drew T. Sanders, MD – UT Southwestern Medical Center Department of Orthopaedics

Matthew R. Schmitz, MD – San Antonio Military Medical Center Department of Orthopaedics

About the Hotel & Conference

Click here to learn more about TOA’s 2023 Annual Conference.

Click here to secure a hotel room at the Hotel St. Anthony using TOA’s special rate.