Orthopaedic Residents

The residents from the Texas’ 13 residency programs represent the future of orthopaedics in Texas. TOA dedicates numerous resources to ensure that residents are prepared to meet the public policy, business, and clinical challenges that they will face when they begin their orthopaedic practices.

Three orthopaedic residents make up TOA’s Residency Council, which creates TOA’s Residency Agenda:

Jordan Handcox, MD
(UT Health Science Center San Antonio)

Max Danilevich, MD

Jacob Murphree, MD
(Texas Tech)

Joey Romero, MD
(UT Southwestern)

Past Resident Council Members
Chad Krueger, MD
Eugene Stautberg, MD

TOA’s Annual Conference

Each year, over 40 orthopaedic residents participate in TOA’s annual conference.

Residents participate in the Resident Quiz Bowl, present papers, and learn more about the clinical and business advances in orthopaedics.  Click here to learn more.

TOA’s Business of Orthopaedics Residency Series

TOA visits the residency programs to discuss the latest public policy and industry challenges that orthopaedic surgeons are facing.

In addition, TOA educates residents through TOA’s e-mail newsletters regarding public policy and industry changes in the Texas market.

Click here to learn more.

TOA’s Resident Survey

Eugene Stautberg, MD surveyed over 80 orthopaedic residents from Texas in the spring of 2016 to gauge residents’ views on the future of the orthopaedic landscape in Texas. Results will be published in late 2016.

Texas Orthopaedic Surgeons Are Supporting Residents
Orthopaedic surgeons can support TOA’s resident efforts by contributing to the Texas Orthopaedic Foundation (TOF). The tax-deductible donation funds resident travel to TOA’s Annual Conference and other resident programs.